Simplicity 6672 Maxi Dress (1974)

sewinintherain1

Earlier this year, I was thrilled to be asked to take part in Vintage Pledge July, a month-long series organized by Kerry of Kestrel Makes and Marie of A Stitching Odyssey. This is part of their annual Vintage Pledge Project challenge, which encourages vintage sewing lovers across the globe to make their favorite patterns of yesteryear.

I had several ideas in mind, but chose this Simplicity 6672 maxi dress from 1974 in the end. This was a great score from the pattern swap during last year’s Male Pattern Boldness Day. Right away I knew I wanted coral-colored fabric, which I was lucky to find at Chic Fabrics in the Garment District. I say lucky because this dress requires four yards of 60″ wide fabric (!) and I was able to find $4.99/yd cotton jersey at Chic. I thought I was going to have to pay a small fortune to make this dress.

These photos and a more extensive write-up can be found on Kerry’s blog, so if you’d like more details please read this post! And don’t forget to see what everyone else is up to this month for #vpjuly.

By the way, it’s hard to tell here, but these photos were taken at Coney Island in Brooklyn. If you get a chance, you have to see what this place looked like well over 100 years ago (lots of photos on the Internet). It was a seaside resort, and it looked amazing. I have some great photos of my family at Coney in the 1940s, ’50s, and ’60s, so it was nice to snap these shots here.

sewinintherain5 sewinintherain3 sewinintherain2

4 thoughts on “Simplicity 6672 Maxi Dress (1974)

Hey, thanks for commenting! I truly appreciate it and always try to respond back. :)

