M6884 Goes to the Movies

IMG_1820

I bought this spongy-feeling knit last summer with the idea of making yet another wrap dress. They’re just so comfortable, easy to make, and easy to wear. I bought enough fabric to make sleeves, but I thought the polka dots would be a little too overpowering (or dizzying) so I opted for a sleeveless dress. I’m completely convinced that sleeveless is the way to go in summer, unless I’m working with lightweight fabric. This dress will even transition into the fall with a cardigan.

To break up the print a bit, I used the reverse side for the waist ties. This pattern has very pronounced tie ends as compared to other patterns I’ve used, so it adds some nice pop there.

I guess there’s not too much else to say about this pattern since I’ve made it before, but I love it! I’m so glad I was able to easily convert the mock wrap design into a true wrap because it’s great to have a wrap pattern option in my stash with no waist seam.

IMG_1922

IMG_1851 IMG_1871

IMG_1933 IMG_1923

These photos were taken outside the Kaufman Astoria Studios in Queens, still an active film studio. I just think it’s so cool that Paramount Studios used to use this complex in the 1920s before heading to Hollywood, and folks like Charlie Chaplin, the Marx Brothers, and Rudolph Valentino starred in movies here. They also used to eat in the commissary that’s now the Astor Room, located at the corner. I found a photo of chorus girls from the 1920s standing just to the right of where I am in the lower photo. Isn’t history amazing?

The Museum of the Moving Image (the white building pictured at right) was once part of the film studios before turning into a museum. Love that place.

Okay, I have to say it: that’s a wrap!

7 thoughts on “M6884 Goes to the Movies

Hey, thanks for commenting! I truly appreciate it and always try to respond back. :)

